17 December 2020

4 mins read

5 Lovely Christmas Gift Ideas For All 5 Love Languages

Looking to find the perfect gift this holiday season? Read this Christmas gift guide based on the 5 love languages!

Stumped for gift ideas? We’ve got you covered. We know how stressful this time of the year can get – how do we give a gift to someone who has everything? Beyond a nice gesture, gifts are an important and tangible way of expressing your love and gratitude to everyone on your list.


Not all gifts are created equal though. Getting a gift that actually means something to your loved ones means looking beyond the latest gadgets and trendiest styles. We have to be aware of how the recipient feels loved and cared for.


So how can we do that? By figuring out their love language! There are 5 love languages that have been famously identified by Gary Chapman and they are:

  • Quality time
  • Acts of service
  • Receiving gifts
  • Words of affirmation
  • Physical touch


Chapman’s theory states that each person has a primary and secondary love language unique to them. To discover more about an individual’s love language, one must analyse their wants and needs in a relationship. One example could be what they request most from their partner, as this could be a strong indicator of one’s love language.


If you don’t already know yours or your loved ones’, take the quiz here!


And to help you look like the ultimate gift-whisperer this holiday season, we have prepared a gift guide for you based on the 5 love languages.

The gift of quality time

This love language centres around togetherness and undivided attention. People who have this as their primary love language feel important and loved when you intentionally set aside time for them.


Quality time can be spent in many ways. It could be binge-watching Netflix originals on the sofa, having a meal or playing video games together. 

The gift of acts of service

The best gifts are the ones that come from the heart. It doesn’t always have to be store-bought or planned out in excruciating detail. Sometimes, a simple but thoughtful gesture is more than enough to put a smile on your partner’s face.


For example, a home-cooked meal is one of the best ways to show appreciation for your partner and you can do so by cooking their favorite meal.


This will not only give you the chance to test your cooking skills you’ve mastered over the lockdown, but also give you the chance to show how well you really know your loved ones.

The gift of physical touch

With border restrictions in place, this is a tricky one. No amount of Zoom calls or FaceTime can make up for the physical absence of your loved ones. But there are other ways to make your presence felt:

  • Long Distance Lamp: Let your loved ones know you’re thinking of them by literally lighting up their lives with a simple touch! You could even use it to wake each other up as if you were together.
  • If the gift is for a significant other, get matching sets of everyday items like pyjamas, shoes, accessories and even matching toothbrushes! This way, both of you can start and end your day thinking of each other.
  • Send snail mail. Amidst the flurry of all the electronic cards or letters flooding our inboxes these days, nothing stands out more than a handwritten letter. It’s more personal on many levels.

Tip: Spray your signature perfume on the paper!

The gift of... Ahem, gifts

Often confused with being materialistic, people with gifts as their primary love language really want to know whether the giver has understood their needs. Say your dad, son or partner stands for long hours in a day at work. A thoughtful gift would be to get them insoles or a foot massager to give their tired feet some TLC.

Has your sister, mom or partner been looking tired lately? Book them a spa or facial appointment! Gifts don’t always have to be products, they could also be experiences or services.

If all else fails, gift cards are a great way to play it safe and spoil them for choice!

The gift of words of affirmation

In this case, words are everything! And we don’t mean flattery. People whose primary love language is through verbal expression need to know that they are being appreciated for their actions, strengths and for who they are.


  • Create an affirmation jar (or journal) filled with words of appreciation the receiver can slowly savour at their own time especially when they’re feeling a little down.
zenyum sonic cta

Start And End Your Day Thinking Of Each Other With Zenyum Sonic.

Now available in an exclusive holiday wrapping!

You Might Also Like...


5 Lovely Christmas Gift Ideas For All 5 Love Languages